Spring 2020 Flood/Virus Report

April 8, 2020

St. Paul Small Boat Harbor

I don’t want to jinx it, but I think spring flooding has peaked for spring 2020.  According to NOAA, the river at St. Paul crested this week.  However, last year we had two, maybe three crests.

April 8 hydro

You may recall the picture of Dave standing next to one of the spuds this past February.  I took another yesterday for comparison.  Notice the position of the stripe on the spud as well as the angle of the ramp to the docks.  The ramp is partially under water.  Now imagine that last year the crest was almost 5 feet higher.

 

side by side

Dave didn’t wear shoes yesterday for dramatic effect.

The COVID-19 pandemic however, has not yet crested here in Minnesota.

COVID prediction

Dave and I haven’t had to quarantine yet.  If we do, at least we don’t have to worry about a marina evacuation happening concurrently.  We are both well as of today.  I barely leave the boat except to get fresh air and exercise.  Dave has to go in to work every day, but he takes as many precautions as he can to avoid infection.

The virus claimed one of my heroes last night, John Prine.  In the early 90s I asked Amusement Devices to put a John Prine CD on the jukebox at the bar where I worked.  They added Bruised Orange.  I think I was the only person that played it.  This May Dave and I got to see Mr. Prine live.  I’m so glad we did.

Stay well, everyone!

Leave a comment